Jerry’s Nose

If you asked me, what part of photography I enjoy the most? I’d say it would be the exploring involved in order to make the photograph. It really has been a blast going to the places I have been to shoot. Especially when you get that great light, and an amazing view to compliment it. Just recently my cousin Sandi and I, went out to discover what lies at the edge of Jerry’s Nose. Sounds funny doesn’t it, haha! Newfoundland has a funny way of naming their land. Anyways, lucky for us, we we’re in for a surprise.

jerrys-nose-land-matted

The view was spectacular! So many subjects all nicely spaced out from one another. There was so much to shoot, we we’re also getting some nice atmospheric haze “AIR GLOW” going off in the distance that was just perfect. It was a real shame that we got these small baby clouds, but I’m still happy that some sort of cloud made it in the frame, kind of adds a nice buffer zone in the top of the image. I noticed Sandi shooting behind this rock for a good bit while I was perched up in another spot. Once I walked up to her position after shooting, I could now see why she was standing there for so long. After standing there in awe, I visualized a composition and setup the camera to take the shot. We still haven’t seen Jerry’s Nose at this point, the light was fading quickly and we had about a 10 minute walk ahead of us still.

jerrys-nose-matted

After walking down some what of a steep hill, the sea stack that is Jerry’s Nose still could not be seen. I was wondering how far we still had to go, at this point I really thought we we’re going to miss it. After approaching the side of the cliff… “LOOK, THERE IT IS!!!” The most interesting looking sea-stack I have ever seen reveals itself. At last! There was only one thing left to do… GET THE PICTURE! I had no time to spare, tripod up, camera in, slap in the filter, now, time to figure out that composition. While the scene was nice from up top, I really wish I had found a way down, to get on the same level as the sea stack. At a distance it looks small, but I can assure you, It’s at least 15-25ft tall. Immediately after this shot, the sun went down. It started to get pretty cold so Sandi and I decided to get outta there. We could have stuck around for some twilight shots but, both our feet were numb to the bone. All I could think of was the car heater warming my toes. I will definitely be coming back to shoot here with better conditions. I can already visualize some of other scenes that might be hidden along this coastline. I hope you enjoyed the shots, as I did taking them.

Leave a Reply

